Connect with us


IPL-17: KKR vs MI: Knight Riders punch their ticket for the playoffs



IPL-17: KKR vs MI: Knight Riders punch their ticket for the playoffs

Kolkata Knight Riders realised a play-off berth with a convincing 18-run win over Mumbai Indians in a rain-truncated IPL fixture on the Eden Gardens on Saturday. This was the ninth victory for KKR, which tallied 18 factors from 12 matches to stay on prime of the standings.

The Knight Riders posted a difficult 157 for seven after MI opted to discipline. With rain forcing the match to start out an hour and 45 minutes late, the sport was lowered to 16 overs a facet.

In reply, MI didn’t consolidate on a effective begin and completed at 139 for eight.


KKR, which beat MI in a earlier fixture on the latter’s dwelling by 24 runs, thus accomplished its dominance over the five-time champion within the present season.

MI openers — Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma (Impression Participant) – struck a pleasant partnership and scored 59 within the PowerPlay whereas tearing aside the KKR tempo assault.

The spin duo of Sunil Narine and Varun Chakaravarthy despatched again the 2 batters.

Narine acquired the important breakthrough by dismissing Kishan 40 (22 balls, 5×4, 2×6) within the seventh over earlier than Rohit (19 in 24 balls), who was struggling together with his shot making, acquired out to Varun.

MI’s chase misplaced course hereafter as the remainder of its batting folded up providing little resistance.

Tilak Varma put in his bit with a stroke-filled 17-ball 32 however that was not sufficient for the customer to style success.

Earlier, MI acquired the best begin, sending the in any other case explosive KKR opening pair of Narine and Phil Salt again to the dugout within the first seven balls.

Venkatesh Iyer stabilised the KKR innings with a quick-fire 42 (21 balls, 6×4, 2×6) and afterward Nitish Rana (33), Andre Russell (24), and Rinku Singh (20) supplied a rear cost to take the KKR whole previous 150, which proved sufficient in the long run.



Phil Salt c Kamboj b Thushara 6 (5b, 1×6), Sunil Narine b Bumrah 0 (1b), Venkatesh Iyer c Suryakuymar b Chawla 42 (21b, 6×4, 2x6), Shreyas Iyer b Kamboj 7 (10b, 1x4), Nitish Rana run out 33 (23b, 4×4, 1×6), Andre Russell c Kamboj b Chawla 24 (14b, 2×4, 2x6), Rinku Singh c Kishan b Bumrah 20 (12b, 2×6), Ramandeep Singh (not out) 17 (8b, 1×4, 1x6), Mitchell Starc (not out) 2 (2b); Extras (lb-3, w-3): 6; Whole (for seven wkts. in 16 overs): 157.


1-6 (Salt, 0.5 overs), 2-10 (Narine, 1.1), 3-40 (Shreyas, 4.1), 4-77 (Venkatesh, 8.1), 5-116 (Rana, 11.6), 6-125 (Russell, 12.6), 7-148 (Rinku, 15.2).


Thushara 3-0-31-1, Bumrah 4-0-39-2, Kamboj 3-0-24-1, Hardik 3-0-32-0, Chawla 3-0-28-2.


Ishan Kishan c Rinku b Narine 40 (22b, 5×4, 2×6), Rohit Sharma (Impression Participant instead of Thushara) c Narine b Varun 19 (24b, 1×4, 1×6), Suryakumar Yadav c Ramandeep b Russell 11 (14b, 1×4), Tilak Varma c Salt b Harshit 32 (17b, 5×4, 1×6), Hardik Pandya c Arora b Varun 2 (4b), Tim David c Shreyas b Russell 0 (3b), Nehal Wadhera run out 3 (3b), Naman Dhir c Rinku b Harshit 17 (6b, 1×4, 2×6), Anshul Kamboj (not out) 2 (2b), Piyush Chawla (not out) 1 (2b); Extras (b-4, lb-2, nb-1, w-5): 12; Whole (for eight wkts. in 16 overs): 139.


1-65 (Kishan, 6.5), 2-67 (Rohit, 7.5), 3-87 (Suryakumar, 10.5), 4-91 (Hardik, 11.4), 5-92 (David, 12.1), 6-117 (Wadhera, 13.6), 7-136 (Dhir, 15.1), 8-137 (Tilak, 15.3).


Arora (Impression Participant instead of Nitish Rana) 2-0-16-0, Starc 1-0-11-0, Harshit 3-0-34-2, Narine 3-0-21-1, Varun 4-0-17-2, Russell 3-0-34-2.

Toss: Mumbai Indians; PoM: Varun.

KKR gained by 18 runs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply