Connect with us


India General elections 2024: Phase IV of polls sees 64.60% voter turnout



India General elections 2024: Phase IV of polls sees 64.60% voter turnout

Polling officers arrive to deposit the EVMs on the finish of voting within the fourth part of Lok Sabha elections, at Galla Mandi in Kanpur, on Might 13, 2024.
| Photograph Credit score: PTI

The fourth part of the Lok Sabha elections on Might 13 noticed a voter turnout of 64.60% until 11 p.m. in 96 constituencies unfold over 10 States and union territories. Incidents of violence and Digital Voting Machines (EVM) malfunctioning have been reported from some States.

A complete of 1,717 candidates have been in fray on this part and 17.7 crore electors have been eligible to train their franchise. With this part, voting course of in 23 States and union territories and 379 seats has been accomplished. The final three phases within the seven-phase common elections are scheduled to be held on Might 20, Might 25 and June 1 and relying on June 4.

Additionally learn: India common elections 2024 updates – Might 14

Of the 96 seats went to polls on Monday, the BJP had received 42 in 2019 whereas the YSR Congress had received 22 seats (in Andhra Pradesh), the Bharat Rashtra Samithi 9 (Telangana), the Congress 6, the Trinamool Congress 4, the TDP 3, the BJD, the AIMIM and Shiv Sena 2 every and the NCP, LJP, JD(U) and NC one every.

On Monday, the best voting share of 76.89 was recorded in West Bengal, the place Trinamool Congress (TMC) and BJP employees clashed in numerous components of Birbhum and Bardhaman-Durgapur seats. Among the many high-profile contests have been in Krishnagar, the place TMC’s Mahua Moitra took on the BJP’s Amrita Roy; in Baharampur, the place the Congress’ Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury is preventing to retain his fiefdom amid a problem by cricketer-turned politician and TMC’s Yusuf Pathan; and in Asansol, the place the BJP’s S.S. Ahluwalia is contesting towards former actor and TMC candidate Shatrughan Sinha.

Jammu and Kashmir, which is witnessing the primary elections after the abrogation of Article 370, recorded the bottom turnout. The parliamentary constituency of Srinagar recorded a polling share of 38% until 11 p.m., the best in lots of a long time, the Election Fee (EC) mentioned.

Decrease in Maharashtra

The voting share in Maharashtra was additionally on the decrease facet at 59.33%.

Andhra Pradesh and Telangana noticed voter turnouts of 68.87% and 62.64% respectively.

A case was registered towards BJP candidate Ok. Madhavi Latha in Telangana’s Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat after she was purportedly seen in a video clip on social media asking burqa-clad ladies voters to indicate their faces to match it with the picture identification playing cards. In Andhra Pradesh, the TDP and YSRCP traded costs and accused one another of resorting to violence, particularly in Palnadu, Kadapa and Annamayya districts. YSRCP chief and Tenali MLA A. Shiva Kumar allegedly manhandled a voter in Tenali following an argument, police mentioned, including the voter additionally retaliated.

Congress leader and party candidate from Baharampur constituency Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury shows his finger marked with indelible ink after casting his vote for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections, in Murshidabad district, on May 13, 2024.

Congress chief and get together candidate from Baharampur constituency Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury exhibits his finger marked with indelible ink after casting his vote for the fourth part of Lok Sabha elections, in Murshidabad district, on Might 13, 2024.
| Photograph Credit score:

Bihar and Odisha noticed turnouts of 57.06% and 65.77% respectively whereas in Jharkhand, the polling share was 64.59.

Meeting polls

Polling additionally passed off for 175 and 28 out of 147 Meeting seats in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha respectively.

Watch | How India voted throughout Part 4 Lok Sabha polls 2024

Uttar Pradesh, which sends the best variety of MPs to Parliament, noticed a turnout of 58.05%.

In the meantime, in Kannauj, SP’s Akhilesh Yadav accused the BJP of rigging the polls. Mr. Yadav claimed there have been complaints of voting being disrupted in polling cubicles. Regardless of the “dishonesty” in Kannauj, the elections have been going effectively and other people have been popping out to forged their votes, he mentioned.

“As quickly as I arrived, the goons ran away from the cubicles,” claimed the SP chief who reached Chhibramau in Kannauj district.

The SP chief additionally met police personnel with whom BJP employees allegedly misbehaved and enquired about their well-being.

In a put up on X, the State unit of the BJP alleged that within the Bidhuna Meeting phase of Kannauj Lok Sabha seat, SP goons weren’t permitting these eager to vote for the BJP and have been indulging in sales space capturing together with the presiding officer and police.

In Etah district, at Gautam Buddha Inter School in Aliganj tehsil, a part of the Farrukhabad Lok Sabha constituency, District Justice of the Peace Prem Ranjan Singh took an aged lady voter on a wheelchair to forged her vote. Etah Senior Superintendent of Police Rajesh Kumar Singh was additionally current on the event.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply