Connect with us


Lok Sabha election 2024 Phase 1: Check out prominent candidates in THESE seats, and other details



Lok Sabha election 2024 Phase 1: Check out prominent candidates in THESE seats, and other details

Lok Sabha election 2024: The primary section of elections for the 18th Lok Sabha elections beginning April 19. The section 1 polling will cowl 102 constituencies unfold throughout 21 states and Union Territories (UTs). The counting of votes can be held on June 4.

Meeting Elections within the north-eastern states of Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim may even be held together with the primary section of Lok Sabha polls on April 19.

Constituencies to vote in section 1

In Part 1, states and UTs together with Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry can be voting on April 19.

Key candidates and constituencies in Part 1:

 1. Nitin Gadkari (Maharashtra): Union Highway Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari is searching for a hat-trick of wins from the Nagpur seat. In 2014, he had defeated seven-time MP Vilas Muttemwar by a margin of two.84 lakh votes, and retained the seat in 2019 by defeating present Maharashtra Congress chief Nana Patole by 2.16 lakh votes.

2. Jitin Prasada (Uttar Pradesh): Pilibhit constituency in Uttar Pradesh holds immense significance within the electoral enviornment after the BJP fielded Jitin Prasada, changing Varun Gandhi. Jitin Prasad of the BJP, Bhagwant Saran Gangwar of the Samajwadi Social gathering, and Anees Ahmes Khan of the Bahujan Samaj Social gathering (BSP) are the principle candidates within the election. In 2004, Jitin Prasada, operating on a Congress ticket from the Shahjahanpur constituency, had gained the Lok Sabha elections. He was appointed union minister within the Congress administration after profitable the Dhaurahara seat  in 2009. He joined the BJP in 2021.

3. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Tamil Nadu): BJP candidate Tamilisai Soundararajan just lately resigned as Telangana Governor and Lt Governor of Puducherry to return to lively politics. She is the BJP’s candidate for the Chennai South LS seat. Tamilisai is the daughter of Kumari Ananthan, a veteran Congress chief. 

4. Karti Chidambaram (Karnataka): Sivaganga MP Ok Chidambaram is aiming for re-election from a seat his father gained seven instances, competing in opposition to BJP’s T Devanathan Yadav and AIADMK’s Xavier Dass.

5. Ok Annamalai (Tamil Nadu): In Coimbatore, BJP state president Ok Annamalai will face off in opposition to DMK chief Ganapathy P Rajkumar and AIADMK chief Singai Ramachandran.

6. Dayanidhi Maran (Tamil Nadu): Tamil Nadu’s Chennai Central Lok Sabha seat will witness a fierce battle between the ruling Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and BJP. The DMK has fielded incumbent MP Dayanidhi Maran who’s searching for to retain the seat, whereas the BJP has fielded Vinoj P Selvam. Chennai Central is taken into account a stronghold of the DMK.

7. Nakul Nath (Madhya Pradesh): Nakul Nath, son of Congress chief and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Kamal Nath, is searching for a re-election from Chhindwara. The seat has remained firmly with Kamal Nath, who has gained the seat 9 instances since 1980. Within the 2019 polls, although the BJP bagged 28 seats out of the state’s 29, it did not wrest Chhindwara, the place Nakul beat the BJP’s candidate by 37,536 votes to emerge because the lone Congress MP from the state.

8. Imran Masood (Uttar Pradesh): The triangular race in Saharanpur, probably the most essential Lok Sabha seats from Western Uttar Pradesh, will function Imran Masood, the nominee of the Congress-SP alliance, Raghav Lakhanpal Sharma of the Bharatiya Janata Social gathering (BJP), and Majid Ali of the Bahujan Samajwadi Social gathering (BSP).  Masood is the nephew of nine-term MP (five-term member of the Lok Sabha and four-term member of the Rajya Sabha) Rashid Masood. 

(With inputs from businesses)

Unlock a world of Advantages! From insightful newsletters to real-time inventory monitoring, breaking information and a customized newsfeed – it is all right here, only a click on away! Login Now!

Catch all of the Politics Information and Updates on Reside Mint.
Obtain The Mint Information App to get Day by day Market Updates & Reside Enterprise Information.

Much less

Revealed: 17 Apr 2024, 01:37 PM IST

Click to comment

Leave a Reply